The National Law School of India University (NLSIU), established in 1987, was the first institution in India to offer a five-year intensive course on social sciences and law. NLSIU has consistently been ranked as the leading institution for legal education in India and has established a marked presence for itself in the global arena. Several of its students have pursued higher education in institutions such as Harvard and Oxford on prestigious scholarships such as the Rhodes; and several others have made a name for themselves in the practice of law in India and abroad.


One of NLSIU’s core pillars is its mooting culture. The Moot Court Society, in addition to organizing inter-university selection rounds and the TIAM, also organizes various mooting workshops and activities to hone the mooting skills of students. It remains the only Indian University to emerge as the winners of the Phillip C. Jessup International Law Moot as well as the World Rounds of the Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot.